What Are the 7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease?

One of the first things you can do when you discover a family member has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease is arm yourself with as much information about the disease as possible. This will allow you to provide effective care to your loved one in this critical time. To help you ease your anxiety, we have summarized the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s disease provided by Dr. Barry Resilberg.

Alzheimer’s Stages

Stage 1

An individual in the first stage of Alzheimer’s does not display signs of impairment, and a doctor cannot detect any signals that suggest an individual may have Alzheiemer’s. 

Stage 2

One may feel that there are lapses in memory which may be normal age related changes or an early sign of Alzheimer’s.  Symptoms are not detected by family, friends, or co-workers nor are any symptoms detected during a medical examination.   

What Are the 7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease?Stage 3

Stage 3 may consist of mild impairment or decline. An individual may get lost on a familiar route or forget important names and dates. A family member may forget the location of their possessions or information they read. They may also have increased trouble planning and organizing.  

Stage 4

A family member in stage 4 of Alzheimer’s disease may have several symptoms of mild Alzheimers. It is common to lose awareness of events. In addition, an individual in this phase may also lose personal memories and the necessary skills to manage finances.  The individual may also become withdrawn. 

Stage 5

As Alzheimer’s continues to progress, an individual will experience a decline in mental skills. A family member in this stage of the disease may become unfamiliar with their current location. In addition, an individual may become unfamiliar with the time and weather. Your loved one may also need some help with daily activities. 

Stage 6

In stage 6 of Alzheimer’s disease, your family member may not be able to get dressed and maintain personal hygiene. Significant changes in their personality and behavior may start to occur. They may become confused, paranoid, and fearful as the disease continues to increase in severity. And your family member may need extensive assistance with daily activities. 

Stage 7

Stage 7 is the most severe form of Alzheimer’s disease. To ensure your family member is able to maintain a high-quality of life with dementia, the staff at our memory care community help with daily activities including cleaning, cooking, laundry, and medication administration. 

What Are the 7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease?Alzheimer’s & Dementia Care Options

Terra Vista is an Alzheimer’s and dementia care community in Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois that is dedicated to caring for individuals with various types of dementia. Give us a call by phone at (630) 534-0886 or schedule a tour of our facility to become familiar with our memory care programs.

Comments are closed.