Useful Links

Additional Resources

At Terra Vista of Oakbrook Terrace, our memory care experts are happy to provide insight and education regarding memory care assisted living. For additional resources and information regarding charitable organizations, insurance, and other educational aspects of memory care, we have assembled these resources for your convenience.

Organizations and Associations:

Administration on Aging – https://acl.gov/about-acl/administration-aging

Alzheimer’s Association of Illinois  – https://www.alz.org/illinois

American Parkinson Disease Association Midwest Chapter – https://www.apdaparkinson.org/community/midwest/

Lewy Body Dementia Association – www.lbda.org/

National Alzheimer’s and Dementia Resource Center https://www.rti.org/impact/national-alzheimers-and-dementia-resource-center-nadrc

Caregiver Resources:

Alzheimer’s Association 24/7 Helpline, 1-800-272-3900 http://www.alz.org

Alzheimer’s Association, Caregiver Stress

https://www.alz.org/care/alzheimers-dementia-caregiver-stress-burnout.asp

Caregiver Action Network http://www.caregiveraction.org

Caregiver Resources Guide: Alzheimer’s Association: https://www.alz.org/national/documents/Lib_Best_FCare.pdf

National Alliance for Caregiving http://www.caregiving.org

Relieving Stress and Anxiety for Caregivers: https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/relieving-stress-anxiety-resources-alzheimers-caregivers

Administration on Aging –  The Federal Government portal to information on Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias care, research, and support: Alzheimers.gov

Memory Care Activity: Stroop Test http://seas.umich.edu/eplab/demos/st0/stroopdesc.html

Medicare Resources

The official U.S. Government site for Medicare https://www.medicare.gov/

What Medicare Covers https://www.medicare.gov/what-medicare-covers

What’s not covered by Part A and Part B of Medicare:  https://www.medicare.gov/what-medicare-covers/whats-not-covered-by-part-a-part-b

Financial Resources: 

Alzheimer’s Association Financial and Legal Planning for Caregivers: https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/financial-legal-planning

Legal and Financial Planning for Alzheimer’s disease
http://training.alz.org/products/1017/legal-and-financial-planning-for-alzheimers-disease

Legal Plans: Assisting a person with dementia in planning for the future
https://www.alz.org/national/documents/brochure_legalplans.pdf

Money Matters: Making Financial Plans after a Diagnosis of Dementia
https://www.alz.org/national/documents/brochure_moneymatters.pdf

National Institute on Aging, Legal and Financial Planning for People with Alzheimer’s disease https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/legal-and-financial-planning-people-alzheimers

Youth and Education

Alzheimer’s Association, Parent’s Guide https://www.alz.org/documents/national/brochure_childrenteens.pdf

Dementia in My Family (Pre-School, 5-8 Years, 9-12 Years, 13-15 Years, and 16+)

https://dementiainmyfamily.org.au/

National Institute on Aging, Resources for Children and Teens About Alzheimer’s Disease

https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/resources-children-and-teens-about-alzheimers-disease

Statistics and Facts

Alzheimer’s Association, 2018 Alzheimer’s disease Facts and Figures
https://www.alz.org/facts/

World Health Organization Dementia Fact Sheet
http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs362/en/

For any additional questions, please contact a memory care expert at Terra Vista for an obligation-free consultation.

Contact Us

Comments are closed.